n recent years, one type of alternative energy like hydrogen has become popular. Some nations such as Japan or Australia aim to be a role model of such a “hydrogen society”. Do you think this is a positive or negative development?

Nowadays, some countries now recommend the new renewable energy named hydrogen to address environmental problems. Despite its apparent benefits, hydrogen will never become a full solution to current issues. On the one hand, utilizing hydrogen is attractive for several reasons. First of all, hydrogen energy can generate electricity to power everything with zero emissions. Therefore, nations now tend to apply this energy more than the conventional ones at full scale. For example, the Japanese government recently has invested a significant budget in the invention of hydrogen-powered products, which gradually replace the traditional ones. In addition, this novel source of energy can be widely applicable thanks to its availability after being stored regardless of time and distance. Therefore, the hydrogen market would become mass-scale production, which reduces the prices of generating electricity. On the other hand, there are numerous problems in the hydrogen production process. The high expense is the most concerning issue. Since each type of plant requires its specific location, infrastructure built for fossil fuels cannot be reused for green hydrogen. Therefore, authorities may cost lots of money to construct all new factories for hydrogen power. Australia, for example, spent at least 200 million launching this industry, not counting the cost of the running process. Another concern is that the creation of hydrogen power usually necessitates the extraction from others materials such as natural gas. However, this method can emit carbon dioxide, which is detrimental to the natural environment. So, if the hydrogen industry is overexploited, the amount of CO2 will be out of control. As a consequence, residents would tend to choose fossil fuels again. In conclusion, despite the unavoidable downsides, in my opinion, hydrogen still can be viable renewable energy with the aid of government policies.