In your opinion, which components of linguistics should the teachers focus on? Why?

Components of linguistics are considered major factors teachers have to concentrate on when teaching a language, and English particularly. However, I believe that depending on the students’ needs and their proficiency in English, teachers will decide which factors to focus on. In my case, after two years of experience in teaching English in a language center, I think to achieve good results in teaching communicative learners, phonology and morphology should be implemented in teachers’ lessons. The reasons will be provided below. The reasons why teachers should focus on phonology, which is the study of speech sounds of a particular language, are varied, but the first and foremost one is that concentrating on this factor can help learners improve their pronunciation effectively. When speaking a language, pronunciation is the main tool deciding the result of the conversation, so a speaker with good pronunciation can achieve the communicating goal since their delivered information can be accurately perceived. Moreover, the age of learners at the language center usually falls into approximately from thirteen to eighteen, at which the linguistic perceiving ability reaches its peak. As a result, learning languages at this period, young learners can easily have better pronunciation, including rhythm, stress, intonation, speech connected and accent, rather than older ones. In terms of morphology, this is the study of the structure of the form of words in a particular language, which means it plays an important role in enriching vocabulary of language learners. In other words, knowing the rules of word creation helps them have the ability to learn new words from a learned word by replacing or adding features into the root one. As communicative learners, vocabulary is a viral factor that they focus on during their studying process, so teachers can implement those rules as techniques to help learners achieve their goals. In addition, this also provides students with the ability to learn grammar more easily, helping them to produce grammatically exact sentences when acknowledging the accurate positions of parts of speech in a sentence as well as being able to give necessary word forms. In conclusion, teachers need to be flexible in deciding the factors of linguistics to pay attention to, which is dependent on their students’ needs along with their ability to acquire.