What challenges do Vietnamese learners encounter when learning English suprasegmental features? How can you help them overcome these challenges?

Challenges are believed to exist during Vietnamese learners’ process of learning a language apart from their mother tongue, especially when learning suprasegmental features, including stress and intonation. In this essay, I will analyze those obstacles, and then provide some possible solutions based on my experience teaching as an ESL teacher. In terms of difficulties, stress can be the most obvious barrier learners have to encounter at the very first period of learning English. The reason for this is Vietnamese is a monosyllabic language, meaning that there is no stress when producing words in this language. It leads to the case that Vietnamese students have difficulties in remembering to put the stress when saying English words and sentences. Consequently, it is hard for these learners to achieve communicating effectiveness because a number of pairs of words in English share the same or similar spellings, but are pronounced with different stresses and maybe consequently deliver different meanings making listeners confused. From my experience, the following solutions can be applied to help learners overcome mentioned obstacles. Teachers should encourage students to create opportunities to expose the target language as much as possible through watching videos or listening to music in English, for instance. Speaking with native speakers is also an effective way to improve their pronunciation. Besides language exposure, the practice has the same importance in acquiring a new language, so teachers need to provide classroom activities such as role-playing or T-demonstrates for students to apply what they have learned. In conclusion, challenges possibly appear in learners’ studying a new language process, so teachers need to be flexible in providing techniques to help their students solve these problems.