Some people believe that governments should spend money on the arts. Others assert that this money should be used to improve public services and infrastructure.

In contemporary societies, there is contention about whether governments should spend money on the arts or on infrastructure and public services. In my opinion, all of these needs are essential, and this debate is avoidable as it is possible to satisfy every one of these budgetary requirements. Firstly, the arts are an essential part of our lives that refresh our souls. It is true that our work can be repetitive, and this can inhibit our sense of creativity. In contrast, the arts stimulate people's sensibilities. Therefore, artistic endeavours have the ability to relax us and change our consciousness. This, in turn, can help us to totally destress and then work more effectively From another point of view, public services and infrastructure are essential requirements that must be paid for by governments. A country cannot develop without infrastructure advances. For example, living conditions cannot be raised without the improvement of services. The reason for this is economic. For example, improved basic infrastructure such as transport systems encourage commerce. As a result, the country can become wealthier. Further to this, education gives employment opportunities to people, and the health care system helps the workforce to live healthier lives. However, collectively developing the arts, services and basic infrastructure requires significant expenditure. To conclude, it can be said that money needs to be used wisely. Accordingly, a blend of funding for the arts as well as financing for services that provide important economic needs is a solution that could satisfy both sides of the debate.