Some people believe that government should provide free education at all levels ( primary, secondary and university). Others, however, believe that individual students should pay for their own university education.

In present age, whether education should be given free or people should pay is a burning debate. Some assert that primary, secondary and university education should be free of charge, whereas, other argue that people must pay for their tertiary education. In this essay, I will discuss both views and give my opinion. Some people believe that free education helps to increase literacy rate. To start off with, government must think about the legislation for free schooling of children which will be a step for upward trends in educating citizens. In other words, large number of people are illiterate even in this modern world, so if there will be opportunity to grab free schooling impact can be seen on the literacy rate. As a evidence, the literacy rate of Nepal has increased today in comparison to past only because of the free education up to high school. If government will offer free tertiary education, then surely the number of educated people will rise sharply in few years. Secondly, in order to practice equality, there must be free education up to university level. That is to say that, if there will be law then each and every citizen of that particular country can receive the education which will maintain equality. For instance, either a child is from rich family or from poor family, they both will get opportunity to enjoy the same quality of education that I not affected by the high and low fees. In the other hand, some argue that people should pay for the university education so that college can get aid to provide good facilities and education to pupils. That means, the fees paid to college can encourage the college as well as the government to make changes in the quality of education. For example, the private universities and colleges have better tutors and facilities than the government universities which shows the conditions of paid and unpaid education. From my perspective, all level of education should be free; weather it is primary level or university level. It helps the people of that country to enjoy the equality and get the education in their field of interest which is not hinder by lack of money. To sum up, although some argue that education should not be free at all levels, that advantage of free education outweigh the disadvantages, such as, people can get taste of equality and it also helps in increasing literacy rate. I personally believe that education should be free at all levels so that everyone can get chance to study.