Some people believe that genetically modified foods are good for society because they help to feed the world’s growing population. Others argue that genetically altered foods are bad for nutrition and the environment. Discuss both views and

Food is one of the basic needs for human survival. In the past several decades, technology has empowered scientists to genetically modify foods (GMO) including, meat, fruits and vegetables to grow faster, become bigger and be more resilient (background - definition). Some individuals believe that these physically altered consumables aid in sustaining an ever increasing population while others debate that such foods have detrimental effects on diet and nature. I believe that although these GMO products have certain benefits, the overall outcome is negative. Visibly, many foods have increased in abundance and size over the last half century. Scientists have changed the genetic code of many fruits and vegetables so that they are more resistant to disease and insects while also growing larger in size and mass over a shorter period of time compared with their predecessors. For instance, when I shop at my local grocer, Super-save-foods, I am often amazed at how large and colorful are the bell peppers and strawberries. Certainly, these foods provide more substance than their smaller counterparts of past. Nevertheless, this is just one side of the science. On the other hand, it is argued that many of these GMO foods may be much larger but contain less nutrition and taste. Often the science which is applied to the altering of food production is focused more on profit than nutritional benefit. Therefore, a modern day pepper or strawberry is larger, but they have less nutrition overall then their non-modified ancestors. For this reason, I am very careful to buy fruits and vegetables which have not been changed by science. Even though I eat ‘less’ amounts of peppers and strawberries, I feel healthy because of the high concentration of vitamins and minerals in these non-GMO products. In conclusion, GMO produce has perhaps helped to keep some part of the world population fed, but it has also caused equal, if not greater, amount of harm to human diet. In my opinion, food production should not just be concerned with quantity but more about quality