Some people believe that for those who commit serious crimes, the death penalty should be the right punishment. Others, however, think that it is not ethical to punish the criminals by killing them. Discuss the positive aspects of both views and give your own opinion.

Many people believe that death penalty is necessary to keep security system efficient in the society. While there are some negative aspects of capital punishment, I agree with the view that without justice we will become more vulnerable to violence. For a variety of factors, the death penalty can be deemed unsuitable as a deterrent. The most convincing point is that we do not have the ability to kill other people. The right to life is the fundamental right of a human being, and no one should infringe on it, regardless of the person's actions. Furthermore, innocent citizens could be executed without due process. Such unfair sentences take away the lives of innocent people and make other citizens lose faith in law and justice. And besides, suspects do sometimes learn their behavior. In this scenario, they should be given another chance to change. This allows them to build themselves and have a better life. However, I agree that the capital punishment is necessary in our society. For instance, it is an important threat to serious crimes such as rape, homicide, and so on. The most successful way to deter a person from committing a crime is to explain the consequences of his or her acts. For example, in the Nirbhaya case the offenders faced death penalties for the heinous crime. This particular case united the country to stand for women's rights and humanity. To conclude, while the death sentence has its drawbacks, I believe it is the most effective method of controlling offenders, reducing governmental costs, and preventing others from committing crimes.