Some people believe that everyone has a right to access to the internet and governments should make it free. However, others say that it should be paid like other services.

Nowadays most information is transmitted over the internet. A strong dependency on this medium has been created, as personal, political and economic news and information are shared through it. As the internet is so widely needed, many people believe that governments should provide this access for free. Others believe that internet access should be paid for. Before the creation of the internet, people had phones, newspapers and televisions, nowadays the internet can replace all of these. Society is now built on a system that relies on everyone having access to the internet. Whether this be in school or in work life. However, while it is seen as a necessity in western cultures, the costs for accessing it are still high for some people. When this point of view is taken into account, it can be concluded that governments should provide access or a division of inequality will be created in society. However, when one takes into account the things that the internet has replaced, it becomes apparent that most of these are not free as well. It is necessary to pay for phone calls, for television and newspapers. Storing all the information and passing it to consumers through the World Wide Web also entails costs. This raises the question whether the internet should be handled differently. Providing internet access to everyone would mean a significant cost for the governments, especially at times of economic crisis. Therefore, this is not a plausable solution to integrate each individual to society. In my opinion, while the internet has become as necessary as a phone, governments should not provide it for free, as the money needed for this would put too much strain on public resources. This finance could be used for even more urgent topics, such as poverty and starvation