PRISON IS THE BEST WAY TO DEAL WITH CRIMES. OTHER PEOPLE SAY THERE ARE BETTER WAYS. DISCUSS BOTH VIEWS AND GIVE YOUR OPINION

Crime punishment has recently become an issue of social concern. A number of people claim that sending prisoners into the jails is the best way, others argue that there are many better methods for them. In my perspective, although prison is one of effective solutions in order to cut illegal acts, I believe that there are still better ways to curtail unlawful acts. On the one hand, the prison would be a helpful deterrent against some serious criminals for society. In other words, it also reduces illegal acts and is a wake-up call for potential criminals. Everyone will have awareness of stricter laws and the government does not hesitate in punishing other serious crimes. To cite an example, in Chicago, compared to the past 10 years, the number of family violent prisons reduced 5% when the court granted from 3 to 5 jail years for that crime. However, such is a short-sighted view that it may harm innocent people after the crimes finish their judgment. It is undeniable that while in prison, most of the offenses would keep hatred and everyone cannot envisage how devastating they are to people in society. Even if criminals spend 5 years in jail, they still commit more pernicious sins after that. Therefore, threatening offenses need to be kept in prison to ensure the security for citizens. More importantly, there is enormous evidence that provides various ways to decrease the number of unlawful acts. To teenage offenders, they should be educated to not only become helpful, but also settle into a long life. Additionally, most family violent criminals are men who are usually alcoholic or hot-tempered and it could lead to uncontrolling their family. Solving this issue is to provide psychology class to them and let them do some activities which need patience such as drawing, making crafts, sewing and reading. Admittedly, they should be trained to be stoic in order to control their behaviour. The most highlight example is that in Vietnam, 95% of teenage criminals have had a stable job when getting out of jails and the number of youngsters has significantly dropped recently. As a result, giving offenders chances is necessary to reduce illegal acts. To sum up, keeping menacing prisons in jails is required, but I am of the opinion that the government needs to apply more methods. I think of raising awareness of criminals by more psychological treatments or education, and they could understand the causes of crime to avoid them.