Some people believe that electronic calculators should not be allowed in school until after the pupils have mastered mental arithmetic. Others believe that calculators save pupils time. especially with complicated calculations.

It is true that technology is created to assist human activities, so people can do their activities faster and easier. Based on this purpose, some people argue that school should permit the students to use electronic calculators in solving the mathematic problem. However, the others argue the reverse. Students must master to calculate manually in school first before they get permit to use calculators. This essay will examine these both views. The proponents who agree in using calculators for children argue that by using calculator, students can save their time from solving complicated calculations. It is because in reality people do not meet intricate calculations in their daily activities. In buying daily needs for instance, the calculations are so simply, just sum the sort of prices, and to do this, people prefer use electronic calculators. So, what is for students master the difficult formula? Even if they will have job in civil engineering for example, all the hardest calculations are solved well by calculation softwares in computer. In contrast, some educationalist think that the aim of calculating without electronic calculators is to sharpen and increase their intelligence. By answering math questions manually, they optimize the function of brain so their brain will develop well. The impacts that students will be felt are they can think faster and can predict well. These is not only useful to achieve the higher score for student’s academic, but these are also needed to their lives. If they have small project in their neigboorhood, they can manage the project by measuring the number of people who are involved, predict the budget and estimate the time. So, that is why mastering the calculation skill for students is important. In my view, I agree with the opponents argumentation who do not allowed students to use electronic calculators. I think students do not to be taught being lazy students who depends on calculators. This way of teach just weaken students’ brain. Students become slow in thinking because they do not exercise their brain to always think and solve the difficult problems. There is time for them to use such that electronic calculators. Later, when they continue to higher eduction when they are asked to understand the electronic calculators.