In many countries the proportion of older people is steadily increasing. What problems will this cause for individuals and society? Suggest some measures that could be taken to reduce the impact of ageing populations.

It is true that nowadays people in industrialised nations can be expected to live longer ever before. This phenomenon has naturally created some issues for the older population and society in general. Althrought there will be negative impacts of this trend, individuals and government can take steps to mitigate. To begin with, the aged populations will put a lot of burden on country's economy. The primary problem is that there will be more seniors who will be eligable to receive pension. It is obvious that the proportion of younger, working adults will be smaller and thus, the government will receive less money in taxes in relation to size of population. As a result increased tax rates will tremendous effect on industry and negative trend followed by higher price tag for all needs. Moreover, further pressures will involve in the a rise in demand for medical treatment. However, there are some measures can cut into place. Firstly, the governments should modify their retirement programs. Basic solution can be the raising of retierement age for working people. If life cycle has already risen, the age range for pension should be increase as commensurately. At present, elderly people who is at their 60s and above tend to be healthy enough to continue a productive work because of the more convinient life style. Another precaution would be to provide the pension a type of people who do not have additional income such as business return, extra real property, savings in back account or interst income when they retiered. In conclusion, there is no doubt that, latest innovations and better medical care, life expectancy will continue to grow. This will certeanly pose some challanges for not only govenments but also indiduals. On the conrary, if better preperations are taken by nations, the magnitude of this problem can be reduced to a great extent.