Some people believe that consumerism is good for countries, whereas others argue that it has negative consequences.

It is often argued that consumerism brings undesirable effects on people’s lives while others disagree and think that it will give benefits. Although consumerism will cause people to buy things that are not really needed and only fulfill their desires, I believe that consumerism also causes the economic movement of society that opens up jobs. On one hand, Consumerism will offer many products that are diverse and relatively cheap. The variety of the goods will temp people to buy more even though they already have products that have the same function. One of my friends has so many watches to use in certain occasions. Actually, he merely needs 3 or 4 kinds of watches for his activities. But because of the nature of consumerism, he has a large collection of watches that he rarely uses them. It would be not a problem for people like him since they have enough money to fulfil their desires. On the other hand, consumerism drives the economy society. The more goods purchased by the community, the higher the production of goods and possibly the addition of employment. This will provide improved welfare for workers as well as employers. For example, during the Covid -19 pandemic, teenager stend to have a variety of designs of masks. Actually, they only need a few masks, but due to the availability of various interesting masks, they buy more. This condition brings to the proliferation of house hold industries and open jobs for many people. In conclusion, although consumerism do temp people to buy things that are not really needed, it also triggers the higher production of goods that opens up jobs and improve the welfare of workers.