Some people believe that companies should manufacture products that last for a long time, others feel that the emphasis should be placed on producing goods that are cheap. Discuss both views and give your opinion

Many think that manufacturers must make goods that are durable while some people argue that they are to focus on manufacturing less expensive products. Goods that last for a period of time are usually expensive and those that are cheap usually break easily. This essay will discuss both views. Personally, would prefer to save money and  buy goods that last longer. Goods that last longer are usually expensive that the cheap ones. This is good for the buyer as they buy once. For example, good phones are usually 50% more expensive than the cheap ones, like an iPhone which is considered one of the best phones ranges from £800 to £1000 while an Alcatel which is almost phased out of the market can be bought for less than £300. The down fall of this is that the companies that sell these expensive goods tend to lose money depending on which country is being discussed. States with good economical status may make more money because the majority of individuals can afford while a poor country people have to save for a long time to buy such produce and when they buy, don't come back to replace or repair thereby lose capital. Cheap products, on the other hand are affordable but do not last long. Many people tend to go for what they can afford for example if a person gets into a furniture shop and sees two identical tables normally they would buy the cheaper one forgetting that the material used on the cheaper one may not be durable. This may lead to either repairs making it expensive at the end of the day or the table breaking beyond repair and having to go and buy a new one. The companies in this instance may make a lot of money as people bring goods for fixing or having to buy another item. In conclusion, expensive goods last longer and cheap ones break easily and may cost more with repairs. The decision to buy a an expensive or cheap product solely depends on how much money an individual has.