Some people believe that companies should be allowed to collecte data about customers freely, while others believe this practice should be restricted.

In this era of free information, data is valued as much as oil. A certain section of the society thinks that enterprises or industries should be permitted to gather information of their customers, while others are with the opinion that, it will invade the privacy of the consumers, therefore, it should be restricted. I opine that there should a restriction on accumulating the details of any individual as it is a personal property of that individual. This essay will elucidate the rationale behind those two ideas before reaching to a plausible conclusion. At the outset, It is an irrefutable fact that in the age of the internet, data is considered a highly resourceful element in business. Those who argue that customer data should be freely available support their idea by showing the advantages of targeted advertisement. To illustrate this, Google, an internet search giant, reveals in an annual report that their search results have drastically improved after the collection of the data from its customer. Moreover, many of the companies are now collecting data to improve sales and also for the betterment of their customer experience. Those who argue on the above notion believe that personal privacy is a big challenge to society. And there are with the opinion that personal data should be considered as personal property. Most of the online activist levy the allegation that contemporary businesses are illegally gathering the data of their customer in the name of to improve the customer experience. For instance, recently a US court has asked a major social networking site to pay 10 billion dollars in a settlement on gathering the information of their user without their knowledge. To recapitulate, the foregoing discussion propounds the view the data collection by companies is beneficial to both companies and to its customers, but there should be a restriction on what type of details are collected. In my opinion, government agency should closely monitor the companies to respect their citizen’s personal privacy.