Some people believe that children should not be allowed to watch television.

It is often argued that children should be restricted from watching television. Although some might agree with this notion, I completely disagree and believe that children should have the freedom to watch television. Not only because television provides opportunity to learn new vocabulary and new inventions, but also because many TV programs provide sports training to children. This essay will explore how watching TV brings tremendous benefits to children, unless they spend a lot of their valuable time in front of a TV set daily. There are various benefits that children can get from watching television. Firstly, children can improve their vocabulary through television. As several TV channels broadcast educational content, which can benefit children to grasp new words. Take an example of Arthur Wynne, who invented “Crossword” puzzle, once attributed his success to informative TV channels he used to watch in his early age. Thus, children can learn new words through television. Secondly, children get to know about new discoveries through television. As multiple TV channels like Discovery or National Geographic telecast TV shows related to inventions, which helps to improve problem-solving skills of children. For instance, Mark Zuckerberg, CEO of tech giant Facebook, once credited his achievements to the educational TV programs, he grew up watching. Hence, such programs help to improve the cognitive skills of children. Finally, sports channels on television help children to learn how to play sports like Cricket, Badminton, Tennis etc. As different sports channels on-air programs; which help children to acquire knowledge of sports. To sum-up, I believe that children should be allowed to watch television, but parents should decide which programs they should watch. Not only because vocabulary and sports skills are improved through television, but also children learn about discoveries.