Some people believe that children should learn a foreign language from the time they start school, while others feel it is better to wait until a child is at secondary school,Discuss both sides and give your own opinion.

In the 21st century having the ability to communicate in internationally spoken language is considered as a great advantage in an individual’s career. Many argue that the foreign linguistic skill needs to be introduced from the early days of schooling; however, others believe that it should commence at the secondary stage of schooling. In my opinion, the introduction of additional language courses should start from the secondary level. This passage will discuss both views in detail. It is commonly believed that provision of the exposure of learning foreign language since the initial stage of schooling is beneficial because at that stage children’s brain is very adaptive and possess high grasping power. If the kids are introduced to a new language at that age they will not have difficulty in learning the language they will be fluent in the taught language as they will be in their native language. Since they have the surrounding atmosphere of their native language at home the same way they get the same exposure of foreign language at school. By this way the foreign language will be easily learned by the student. Another reason for teaching the foreign language from the primary stage is that students will have the more time to practise the language and develop it as nature because linguistic skills develop with the practice. The more it is practised the more the person becomes proficient in that. Based on above two major reasons many believe that children should start learning internationally spoken language from the primary stage of schooling. However, I believe that the education of the foreign language should start from the secondary stage of schooling because at the secondary stage of schooling children are matured enough to decide the language they want to learn based on their choice of career. It is often observed that some languages does not have the same level of recognition in every aspects of career therefore by the time student arrive in their secondary stage they become familiar with skills and abilities and what profession they want to pursue and based on that they can decide their choice of profession. For example, if any student wants to become an automobile engineer in that case Germany is the country which is the hub of opportunities in the automobile sector therefore learning German will be advantageous for him. Moreover, by the student reaches to the secondary stage of schooling their brain are well developed enough that they can easily understand the concept of any language being taught. Hence, in my opinion teaching foreign language from secondary stage of schooling is more beneficial. Although, some people are of opinion to teach the foreign language from primary schooling, However I feel that foreign language should be taught from secondary stage of schooling instead of primary stage because children can decide which language would be beneficial for them in their future career, otherwise at primary stage they are enforced to learn the language by the education system and by the time they grew up and become at the stage of choosing their career the learned language at primary school might not be useful for them. Therefore, the foreign language should be introduced at secondary stage.