Society is based on rules and laws. It could not function if individuals were free to do whatever they wanted to do. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Freedom is fundamental right of an individual, nonetheless, in a society rules and legislations play important roles to ensure its smooth functioning. The regulations offer a set of appropriate rights, while the laws provide support to the community's security. This essay explores the necessity of having rules and laws for governing a society. Public places are often established with rules. This ensures not only protection of property, but also humanity. In addition, an authority, such as the government, can help enforce the rules in the society. If orderly control is not available in the society, then the consequences can be drastic. To explain with an example, the public parks in India have strict operating hours. The guidelines allow not only to maintain the properties, but also guarantee security of the public. Crime rate would exponentially increase affecting the mankind if rules are not followed. Although rules help to reduce crimes, laws make sure that a society remains peaceful. Humans are afraid to break the rules since the laws that surround such illegal activity are exceptionally strict. If caught, a criminal could face massive fines. On the other hand, lawless society can stumble rapidly. For example, a democracy allows to a non-violent protest. However, lawless protests have the tendency to disrupt the pillars of democracy creating a frightened society. Legislations provide assurance that such incidences are minimum. In conclusion, rules and laws co-exist to make certain proper functioning of a civilized and harmonious society. Communities have always thrived and will definitely progress by providing the right balance between freedom, and rules and laws.