Several people assert that the main cause of crime is an economically disadvantaged background. However, others say that crime is caused by a person's nature. Discuss both ideas and give your own opinion.

There appears to be a linear relationship between poverty and crime. However, this is not entirely straightforward as a school of thought believe it is the instinct of man that drives criminal activities rather than being poor. I do not think arguments will be enough to support the latter view as I will ventilate below. Children with some forms of misconduct often grow to adults with criminal tendencies. Despite the popularity of this view among some intellectuals, there is no scientifically-proven evidence to date. Again, this body of opinion argues that major offences are not sudden events but would have been preceded by past delinquencies. For example, a serial killer recently apprehended in India said that he loved killing birds as a child and this probably made him see nothing important in human lives. I think this is just a one-off and should not be generalised. On the contrary, many criminals often attribute their activities to economically deprived backgrounds. Besides, the country with the highest crime rate in the world is also the poorest, further adding weight to the link between criminal activities and being poor. Though the other side of the debate posited that nefarious activities are unlikely if one does not exhibit a natural tendency to do so, this does not sound valid because poverty has pushed many with humble beginnings into criminal activities. None of the notorious criminals that faced the firing squad in Swaziland in 2017 was from an affluent background. To conclude, it does not seem legitimate enough to ascribe crime to the character of a person simply because of some traits from childhood or taking pleasure in wicked activities. I think the primary reason for crime is being poor because man must survive and if there is no legal provision for survival, human nature notwithstanding, man will likely resort to criminal ways out.