Some people believe that children should be taught literature of their own country rather than other countries.

It is incidentally being argued that there is an imperative need for children to learn the literature of their own country more than that of other nations. I agree with this view and while doing so by this essay I will justify why it would be beneficial for children to know the history and literature of their own country first. On the one hand, whilst schools have a primary responsibility to impart knowledge of languages, sciences, business, social studies, geography history, and so on to their students, it is crucial that they touch base with literature and traditions of their own country too, as the history of a native land brings about a sense of belonging to the child. Literature is said to be the written word or proof of the past, expressed in a common language by people of that time. This used to be in the form of songs and poems until they have been scripted into words. Interestingly, if taught early, literature of their own country helps students relate the bygone time to the present existing period. Another fundamental benefit in it is that if students are exposed to learning about their country’s literature they will have automatically imbibed a true sense of pride and love for their country, a sense of affection for their native land that can strengthen them for future wisdom required for competing in debates and cultural exhibits internationally. The lives and examples of the heroic bravery shown by people in history can empower the future generation to make some major choices in life such as joining their country’s military forces to safeguard and protect their country. To sum it all up, it is beneficial in many ways to imbibe children’s minds with the knowledge of their own country’s literature and history first, so that they can relate better to understanding literature of foreign countries in future.