Some people believe that charities should help people in need no matter where those people are in the world. Others feel that these organisations only serve the people living in the country where they are based. Discuss both sides and give your own view.

Raising money for charity for people of own country or for people around the world is a topic of utmost contention. Many individuals argue that money collected out of charity should be spent exclusively on the people of own country whereas, others support the idea of helping the people around the globe without considering the borders. This essay will throw light on both the ideas equally, followed by my opinion. The first argument holds that funds raised in the charities should be used for individuals in need, no matter their location, as the NGOs working to help people have been created solely with the purpose of doing good for humanity. It is a duty of any NGO or such bodies alike, to work single mindedly for the betterment of people in need. For example, it has been observed in the past that whenever any country faces any sort of natural calamity or any unforseen occurance, their neighbouring countries always extend their support to help them. In particular, it was seen, when in China few years back, there came a devastating earthquake and shattered a whole lot of property and affected people's lives majorly, many countries stood by them in complete unison. On the contrary, another set of individuals claim that the money collected from indigenous country, should be used on their own country's people. They maintain that the first ligitimate right on the funds collected from the country is of their own people and hence they should be used to help the own country people. The preference should be given to the ones in need in our own nation. Because if people of our own country are suffering, it is of no use to raise money for people living outside. I personally feel that charities should give priority to people in dire need, there are emergency cases, those who need immediate attention and preference should be towards them, rather than fighting over boundaries. To conclude, disbursing of charity funds have always remained a debatable issue. Governments should intervene and make some amendments over the funds collected from people and for the people.