In many places, new homes are needed, but the only space available for building them is in the countryside. Some people believe it is more important to protect the countryside and not build new homes there. What is your opinion about this?

Nowadays, the demand for housing is higher than ever before, yet only rural areas can keep pace with the demand for the new development of this sort due to space scarcity in urban areas. While it is a matter of concern, I personally think that unspoilt countryside exceeds all other concerns from environmental, economic, and aesthetic points of view. New housing estates in the green belt have catastrophic impacts on the economy and environment because of occupying land which is better used for forestry and agriculture. As a result, agricultural productivity declines. On top of that, deforestation allows a huge amount of toxic gases to be released into the atmosphere. It is reasonable to assume that the more development of the countryside takes place, the worse these two crucial sectors are likely to pay the price, imperilling food security and environmental safeguards. Likewise, the natural beauty and heritage of local residents built by past generations and the way they connect with the gentle landscape are a key component of the attractiveness of the tranquil countryside. If more new homes to be built in rural areas, it would inevitably spoil the rustic charm resulting in a decrease in tourist attractions. For example, many countries in the Asian region have lost its tourist attractions due to such property development. Thus, not only does housing development mar the aesthetic beauty, but also jeopardize the government revenue as tourism contributes to a huge proportion of GDP. Admittedly, if property development cannot occur in rural areas, the burden must fall somewhere else. For example, going vertical like many developed countries could be a solution to the increasing housing demand. However, satisfying housing demand should not come at a high price of the peaceful countryside that is vital to economics, environment, and aesthetic appeal. To conclude, although adequate accommodation is essential, I firmly believe that conservation of the quiet countryside requires to be prioritized so as to protect economies, environment, and aesthetic attractions. This position is fairly logical because the importance of the latter exceeds that of the former.