Some people believe that celebrating personal events is a waste of money. Others feel that these celebrations play an important role in the lives of individuals and in society as a whole.

Occasions are considered to be the part and parcel of life as well as of the society. While many people hold the opposite view regarding it. They feel that these personal celebrations are sheer a materialistic wastage. In my opinion, celebrations within certain limits are joyous for both individuals and societies. Human beings are fond of celebrations since immemorial times. It is considered to the appropriate formal way of sharing happiness in many societies. There are several occasions like birthdays and anniversaries on which parties are thrown by the concerned persons so as to share the feeling with their own friends and relatives. Such behaviour would not only strengthen relationships, but also flourish communal harmony. Moreover, functions and celebrations can be seen as the pleasant way for ending harsh feelings, if any. Alternatively, there is also a dark side of these personal celebrations. To be specific, lavish marriage ceremonies are making additions to many social evils like dowry system. It has been found that in the name of prestige, large number of people in India are forced to spend huge amount of money on their wedding functions. In fact, lump sum amount spend on celebrations is considered to be unproductive expenditure as it doesn't contribute much back in the society. On the top of that, costly functions add to the miseries of many people. In conclusion, personal events are no play significant part in the lives of individuals and societies. However, it should not be treated as the way to add to the miseries to people and money wastage.