Some people believe that capital punishment should not be used. Others, however, argue that it should be allowed for the most serious crimes. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

It is often argued if the highest form of punishment should be served for the gravest crimes or it should not be implemented at all. I strongly believe that capital punishment should not be imposed at all. First of all, mistrial is common in our society which makes the innocent convicted of the crimes they did not do. Implementing capital punishment only increases their chances of paying for the crime they didn't even do. The most common example of this would be the Filipina domestic helper in Malaysia who was sentenced to death for the reason that the airport authorities found a sachet of illegal drugs, which she claimed was not hers and was only given to her by another traveller. Therefore, the highest form of punishment shouldn't be imposed on her. Secondly, rehabilitations for the people who committed serious crimes are a lot better solution than lifetime imprisonment or death. A lot of people may get better after a year of rehabilitation than staying imprisoned for the rest of their lives. A great example for this would be Paco Lariñaga who was convicted in the Philippines for a decade. He later on transferred to spain and enrolled in rehabilitation centers which through the years heleped him developed hid potentials. His progress in rehabilitaton center is a lot better than when he was still in prison. In conclusion, implementing the highst form of punishment is a disadvantage for the innocent hence, there are a lot better options of correcting a person's misconduction than life imprisonment or death.