Modern technology, such as chemical fertiliser, is being used more nowadays. Some people think that it is dangerous to human health and has negative effects on local communities.

Today, innovations in farming have changed citizens' lives far significantly. Some individuals believe that the new chemicals used in agriculture have had numerous drawbacks on people's health. However, others, myself included, believe that the positive influences can surpass the negative consequences. On the one hand, some people believe that chemical materials used for food are like a tip of an iceberg. One reason is that they can increase the risk of obesity. Hormones are the ones which are applied as fertilisers in vegetables or animal products, causing the users to become more overweight. For example, the rate of obesity has fundamentally grown among the U. S. citizens, who use the greatest amounts of non-organic foods in the world. These types of foods are considerably more economical than the organic ones, being used hugely by Americans, who are number one when it comes to the obesity rate. Another side effect is the risk of resistance. Using of these chemical materials, crops may defend less themselves against mutated pests. In particular, billions of tonnes of corn products were ruined in Canada in 2009 because of new species of these modified pests, reported by the National Geographic magazine. On the other hand, I give a green light to the usage of these products because of having more advantages. One important benefit is that these fertilisers have increased the productivity of agricultural products. Clearly, the more they are used by farmers, the more massive crops are generated. As a prime example, we can see the quality of apple has been improved notably, compared to the past. The shape, volume, colour and even price of it have been changed positively, and many of citizens can afford it; therefore, even low-income families are able to purchase it. Furthermore, crops are nourished by more valuable items. In many farm industries, vitamins and minerals are added to crops, leading them to become far nutritious than the organic products. In particular, had not these chemicals been used in rice, more children would have suffered from Vitamin B deficiency, the most abundant vitamin being found in non-organic rice. In conclusion, although consumption of chemical materials can be partly risky, I personally believe that their advantages can be greater than their negative side effects. These materials have helped humans to not only be able to afford better their food, but they can consume more healthy products than before. If I were a governor, I would support those industries producing them.