Some people believe that by virtue of improvement of medical care, life expectancy is growing. From my perspective, the advantages of this trend will outstrip disadvantages.

The advancement in medical treatments due to ever evolving technologies has a positive effect on average life expectancy of people. Generally, there are both advantages and disadvantages to this. I personally feel that this development has benefits which outweigh the disadvantages. In the olden days many people would die due to lack of technology and advanced medicine. For instance, there were a lot of casualties due to a disease called smallpox especially in third world countries. However, it is now eradicated with the help of a vaccine which was developed with improved medical and research fields. The increased life expectancy due to developed medical care also affects a family, for example the death of an important person due to lack of modern medical care in a family could affect the other members if they were dependent on him/her. Some people could argue that increased life expectancy can have drawbacks. They claim that this would lead to an increase in the overall population since the number of births would be more than the number of deaths. Also medical healthcare facilities could mean higher medical costs than usual which could affect the poor and middle class of people adversely. But, I strongly believe that the benefits outweigh the drawbacks. The rise in population can be controlled by raising awareness on family planning rather than blaming it on the longer life expectancy. Government has various medical relief plans which could keep the hospital bill in check. In conclusion, the longer life expectancy as a result of the advancements in the field of healthcare has both benefits and drawbacks. I strongly feel that the benefits overshadow the drawbacks.