Some people believe that bicycles are the best mode of transport in the cities, while others disagree. Discuss the advantages and disadvantages of using bicycles

Living in a high pace era, people have to deal with a number of traffic jams, especially in urban areas. In order to ease that, there is an opinion of whether bikes are the best vehicle to use in the city. This essay will discuss both the pros and cons of this kind of transportation. To begin with, bicycles bring numerous benefits for the users. One of the most common reasons is that they play a crucial part in reducing traffic congestions. It can not be denied that bikes are smaller than other transportations including cars, buses and motorbikes. Thanks to that design, roads would have more spaces so that the rates of traffic jams, especially in the rush hours would significantly reduce. For example, Paris is the most crowded city in France. With encouraging city residents using bikes, we now hardly see the congestions in this area. In addition, bikes are environmentally friendly vehicles, which means the more people using these transportations, the cleaner the atmosphere is. To be more specific, different from the modern vehicles releasing carbon dioxide to the environment, bikes are friendly with the environment by not releasing any deleterious chemicals. As a result, less dust is produced; therefore the air would be cleaner and people would not suffer from some health issues relating to lungs such as lung cancers. Viewed from different sides, bikes also have some negative effects on the users, which is worth noting that the speed of the bikes are less than other vehicles. In a little more detail, according to research, the average movement of a bike is about 15 kilometres per hour, while motorbikes are approximately 30. As a consequence, the time participating in traffic for bikers is longer. To grap up, bikes are good for not only the environment but also the traffic; however, it would be slower than other transportations.