Some people think that governments should increase the tax on unhealthy food to enhance public health.

It is known that junk food is very delicious and nearly everybody likes to eat them, however, they are really unhealthy that they cause many diseases. Therefore, some people believe that these kinds of food should be taxed heavily to make society healthier. I think this way of acting will not be the solution to the problem. To begin with, fast food is unhealthy but it is preferred by many people because it is cheap, fast and tasty. It is affordable compared to many foods so that people have the chance of feeding themselves inexpensively. Thus, if the government increases the tax on this food, it will be hard for many people to buy and eat them. Because of the fact that when a person is hungry and has little money, they do not think about whether the food is healthy or not in the first place, yet they think about its price. As a result, more taxes on this food will be a real burden for individuals. Nonetheless, surely, eating this unapproved food makes the public more unhealthy. That’s to say, people are affected not only physically but also mentally. Society becomes more and more depressed, stressed, far away from being productive and creative. Also, people will get ill more and they will be in need of more medicine, hospitals and health workers such as doctors, nurses which will be more burden on the government budget. Consequently, if the tax on this food rises, the public will be enforced to have a well-balanced diet. As a conclusion, fast food is not healthy which is exactly true, however, it is my belief that taxing heavily this food will not be the right step to take so as to create a health-conscious public.