Some people believe that air travel should be restricted because it causes serious pollution and uses up the world's fuel resources. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is irrefutable that air travel causes pollution and uses a lot of fuel, but I disagree with this statement that air flights should be restricted. If air lines should be restricted it would solve some problems but would lead to many other problems. At a time when people of all over the globe would worry about decreasing level of fuel resources and global warming, it is a right time to take action to save our planet Earth. However, discouraging air travel is not a solution. International tourism is become the backbone of many countries. Tourism increases the economical level of many nations. Many people get employment in this industry. Many hotels and restaurants are dependents on tourism. If tourism is prohibited, it would create many serious and worse problems. Although, air flights also enables intercultural exchanges between countries. People commute anywhere and get a opportunity to learn about different cultures and traditions and have a better understanding of nations used to be unfamiliar with. It is true that air travel consumes fossil fuels but other modes of transportation also causes environmental pollution. Discouraging private cars and encouraging public transport are helps to reduce some environmental problems. Technology also be used to produce environmentally friendly and less fuel efficienct engines. To conclude, restricting air flights is not a solution to reduce pollution. People should encourage to move by public transport instead of private transport solves many problems.