Some people believe that a visitor to country should follow local custom and tradition while other believe that host country should respect the cultural differences

Mass immigration to the western world often debates on the popular media in terms of cultural values. It is often argued by some that an immigrant should follow tradition and culture of the host country in order to blend in easily. Meanwhile, others still claim that the host country should respect cultural differences to make life easier for immigrant. However, I believe that visitors should follow certain custom and traditions and the host country should also show flexibility to cater for immigrants. This essay will explore both sides of the argument before discussing my opinion. On the one hand, the supporters of the idea that a visitor should follow local custom and tradition believe that it helps immigrants integrate properly in the society. As integrating into community allow the visitor to become an active member of the society. Take an example of New Zealand, where the Syrian migrants have simulated in the community on the northern island. Thus, visitors can easily integrate in a society and flourish if they follow local custom. While on the other hand, the advocates of the idea that the host country should respect the cultural values believe that it would reduce conflicts and would help immigrants in becoming a productive part of community. As disrespect of culture would lead to a disintegrated population and conflicts. For instance, a large African migrant population in Sweden suffered a lot at the hands of the Swedish government, which had conflicting policies in regards to their culture. Hence, keeping in consideration the cultural differences would for sure reduce conflict. Whereas, I believe that a visitor should follow local cultural values to an extent, but the host country should also show respect for cultural differences not only help immigrants blend in easily but also reduce cultural conflicts. To sum up, in order for a host country to have active immigrants that are productive and integrated within community so the host country should respect the cultural difference and visitors should follow local practices.