Some people believe that a university degree is essential for success in life, others are of the view that success can be gained through other parameters?

A section of the society believes that a post-graduate degree is essential in life to achieve success, while on the other hand there are people who believe that success can be gained by many other modes. However, this essay will discuss both the conflicting views before reaching to an appropriate conclusion. There are people of belief that educational qualifications are utmost priority in order to achieve success. Foremost reason of their belief is a top level management job. However, in this era of competition most of the companies ask for a professional or high degree from a reputed university as it clarifies that pupil has undergone through various examinations and possesses knowledge required for a field job. For instance, a ward wish to work at Infosys he/she will require a certain professional degree for it. Secondly, creditability of a person can be a dominating aspect. A degree from well recognised institution will definitely increase a ward’s reputation in the society. In order to achieve a degree from a certain institution many examinations has to be cleared so there will be gain of knowledge too. On the other hand, there is a certain school of thought that believe practical knowledge plays vital role rather than bookish knowledge. Firstly, on field knowledge is more important. If a guy might be theoretically sound but what if he isn’t good on the desk? To exemplify, a person having a specialisation in Human resource but not having enough skills to recruit a perfect candidate for the work required. In addition to this, real life experience is a concerning reason. A person having a practical approach towards his work also helps a lot. For reference, Bill Gates was a college drop-out student but due to the practical knowledge and a perfect mission set lead him towards the founder of Microsoft Company. To conclude, in line with the discussion above, it is evident that both the views have respective relevance. I am however of opinion that practical knowledge is crucial which would drive towards success.