"Some people believe that a person's culture is defined by their country of origin, while others believe that has only a minor influence. Give your opinion. " (500 words maximum) *

If we define culture as shared beliefs, values, attitudes, and behaviors, it stands to reason then that a person's country of origin impacts their culture. The question is to what degree. Is nationality the defining influence or is it just one of many factors in play? Personally speaking, I would say both arguments have validity, but I would lean towards the latter. It is easy to understand the ‘defining influence’ argument. If someone is born and raised in a place, they will be heavily affected by it. Psychologists refer to this as the ‘nurture argument’ - you are a product of your environment. For instance, if your country's cuisine uses specific ingredients, you get used to those ingredients but may cope with other less familiar tastes. If your country has a conventional style of music, say, bolero or red music, the ubiquitous of it, and, as a result, tend to enjoy it more. On the other side of the argument, we need to recognize the impacts of globalization. Most people have daily access and get exposure to other cultures. It all surrounds us- restaurants, movies, and international companies are everywhere. One of the advantages of globalization is that it offers us a choice of cultural opportunities to choose from. It is unsure that you will find any citizen of a specific country who does not have likes or preferences that come from outside of their country of origin. In addition, more and more people work, study, or travel broadly away from their home country. Inevitably, these people will be subject to new influences. My own view is that while we are influenced by our community, in this globalized world, one's country of origin is only one aspect of our common culture. We all adopt elements from other cultures on a daily basis, unconsciously or according to our preferences and experiences. To my mind, this is what makes the world such an attractive place.