Some people believe that a person's culture is defined by their country of origin, while others believe that has only a minor influence.

Culture is one of the most defining characteristics of one’s nature and overall behaviour. There are multiple explanations as to how a person’s culture evolves, and people have differing opinions on the subject. Some argue that it is primarily influenced by our nationality as it is one of the most important factors in our upbringing and development. Others, as do I, reason differently, and are on the opinion, that the influence of our nationality pales in comparison to the socio-economic status of our family, where we are being raised. The country, where we originate from provides some of the most defining characteristics of our personality. It grants us with our native language which effects how we think of the world and which cultural mediums we consume. A country’s own culture is deeply embroidered in its everyday life and educational system, which cannot be avoided, no matter how hard we try. This naturally leaves its mark on every citizen and resident of the country, therefor they inevitably absorb some of the country’s own culture. Those who think otherwise, point out that in modern times with the arrival of globalisation many people grow distant from their country’s culture and adopt a more international, most commonly western, way of life. Especially those, who are fortunate enough to born into upper-middle class families tend not to conform to their country’s traditions, rather to those of wealthier and more influential nations. Most of them learn a second language, commonly English, which they use to consume foreign pieces of culture, like literature or filmography. In many cases they have better knowledge of these foreign nations’ culture, than their own native one’s, which ultimately leads them down a path, where they either partially or wholly abandon their country’s culture. In conclusion, our place of origin naturally makes a lasting impression on our culture, providing us with a native language and many social norms, which we abide by throughout our lives. Although this effects our personality, especially in our early years, as many of us grow older, we learn second or third languages, which is than being used to absorb as much foreign culture as possible. This external effect, in my opinion, dwarfs the influence of our country of origin and makes a more lasting impression than where we grew up.