Car ownership has increased so rapidly over the past thirty years that any cities in the world are now ‘one big traffic jam’. How true do you think this statement is? What measures can governments take to discourage people from using their cars.

It is undeniable that increased car ownership has lead to create a major issue of traffic congestion nowadays. There are several reasons including better facilities inside the car and reliability factor behind this erection of this problem; however, this problem can be tackle by taking a number of effective steps in terms of promoting awareness by the government. To begin with, it is true to say that advancement in modern vehicles with fastly manufacturing process, people can easily purchase their private cars. In fact, few individuals will feel sense of belonging, and ultimately, their reputation within the community will be increased. Moreover, it has provided convenience factor to customers to an extent. For instance, modern SUV's cars have air-conditioning facilities and cushions which gives aesthetic pleasure. This is to say, owned vehicles would be more in number in means of commuting purpose during rush hours which will generate extensively traffic jams in the urban areas. However, government should take responsibility to address this hindrance by influencing public transit systems. In other words, these official governing bodies could invest money to improve and develop rail infrastructure. Also, they can provide free bicycles to schoolchildren in order to alleviate the traffic concerns. This can be accomplished by abandoning private cars along with introducing more taxes to those mechanical companies; as a result, it will create encouragement among the public to prefer public transportation. For example, a survey conducted by 'the Hindu' newspaper suggested that if the Vietnam had not implemented strict rules and regulations not to use their own motors on weekends, then traffic related issues would not have been reduced to 50% less as compared to past times. In conclusion, although cars have influenced the people way of living, particularly ease of availability factor and facilities the people standard, it has lead to more traffic disruptions. While there are few potential solutions to be taken place by the government.