Some people believe that a person's culture is defined by their country of origin, while others believe that has only a minor influence. Give your opinion

While many people believe that a person’s nationality determines their culture which refers to shared beliefs, attitudes, and behavior, others argue that one’s country of origin plays a minor role in influencing one’s cultural identity. From my perspective, I am strongly inclined to the latter viewpoint. On the one hand, that your country impacts the manner we learn, behave and perceive. People are likely to be heavily influenced by the environment in which they are born and raised. In other words, our country of origin provides a framework for our behavioral norms and beliefs. For example, Vietnamese people are accustomed to fine-flavored food, but they may struggle to adopt other country’s cuisine like spicy Korean food. Moreover, when citizens are exposed to their country’s deep-seated etiquette, beliefs, they are more likely to conform to the society’s shared values. To illustrate, Western people tend to prefer a self-independent and distinctive lifestyle as these countries foster an individualism society, which is an opposite consensus with collectivism in Asian culture. On the other hand, one’s cultural identity should be attributed to various factors and globalisation is among the most influential one to our culture. Globalisation not only offers us the chance to have frequent access and exposure to different cultures but also opportunities to a diversity selection of cultures all around the world. For example, the music and film industry has reached far beyond the geographical boundaries and it is not unusual that any citizens from different nations share common preferences to a massive hit or a blockbuster like Avengers. Another benefit of globalisation is greater chances to travel outside your country and interact with people from other countries. Undoubtedly, the more we are subject to new cultures, the more our horizon is broadened and the more we are likely to embrace other countries’ way of life, altitudes, beliefs, which leads to an international network of like-minded people who share similar values and altitudes. To sum up, while nationality influences our cultural identity to some extent, globalisation plays a more vital role in forming it. In today's world, people have a tendency to adopt other culture’s differences more eagerly and personally I think this is a positive development.