Some people believe that a person improves their intellectual skills with a group of people more than by doing personal activities.

In recent decades, many researchers have studied the importance of group-level comprehension. Although, some intellectuals believe that it is always better to study on own, researches have often showed the other picture. There have been convincing evidence that group activities improve the intelligence of individuals. In my opinion, there are surely more advantages of working in groups than as a single entity. Firstly, team games mostly require the individuals to perform a diverse range of rapid mental calculations. For instance, a player has to predict and anticipate all the possible actions that the competitor can take with very tight time constraints. A recent study of Cambridge University showed that a soccer player in a fraction of time figures out lots of permutations and combinations from a single soccer event. These predictive powers resulting from the activities performed in a group context improve the mental ability of the individual. Secondly, study groups enable individuals to obtain information that they might not be able to acquire in isolation. The reason behind is that in isolation a person often lacks good feedback. This is very necessary for the refinement of the understanding of concepts. For instance, a British Learning Group found out that study groups have a far more objective and sophisticated understanding of topics when compared to people or the learners not part of study-groups. In conclusion, I believe the notion that group activities do improve the intellectual abilities of an individual. With time it is hoped that more schools will try to felicitate group studies and games for a better study culture. (261 Words)