Some People believe that a better way to reduce crime is to have longer sentences, while others think that there are alternatives to this problem.

In our modern world, an increase in crime rates are being a major factor that worries the people of almost all parts of the world. Some believe that staying a longer time in jails will reduce crimes. While others stick to the point that the are other ways to solve this problem. This essay will discuss both the views in deep. In general, many people think that the criminal should be punished with longer sentences due to several reasons. Firstly, there are different types of culprits with varying criminal records like theft, murder, sexual harassment, etc. It is believed that during their stay in prison, they will have the opportunity to be rehabilitated through many services. Following this, they might end up having a rethink and great regrets. They find their own ways in order not to re-offend in their life. Moreover, this way is also beneficial for the reduction of crimes in our surrounding areas. Thus, it discourages other criminals to attempt a crime in present. On the contrary, people also suggest that there are many more solutions to this problem. I am certain that all the offenders are not the same that we may look at them for enlightenment. Some may get more violent and merciless. They may find satisfaction on all those bad deeds and will continue to follow the wrong path that they once chose. For example, there are some cases in history which tell us about some of such offenders, who after committing a crime, becomes a complete psychopath and hence, does not care about their future. They must be educated and offered with employment plans so that they could improve their life situations. However, there are certain lawbreakers who commit a crime like a robbery without a way out. This may be due to different life situations like debts and poverty. So we must allow a room to justify these crimes. In conclusion, longer sentence to prison and offering kind opportunities may not work to some extent so as to reduce crimes. I think the government should opt a better solution apart from these, instead.