Some people believe it is important for college students to receive education about at least one musical instrument. Some people think that providing music education for college students is not necessary. What is your opinion and why?

The importance of studying history and learning from it was always been considered one of the most heated topics. Indeed, there are different points of view: someone thinks that history cannot teach anything, while others argue that it is a teacher of life from which everybody can learn, in order to avoid the same mistakes and create more rightful societies. I personally believe that studying history is the best way to improve human’s life and understand the world where we live. Consequently, this essay will focus on both opinions and it will explain my point of view. It is well known that life and societies are used to change during the history putting us to the test with very different situations. Clearly today’s problems as well as life goals are not the same than in the past and this led to think that history cannot give us a lecture of our lives. In contrast, in my view, our lives and societies are only the development of historical events and only learning history can give us the key to understand modern times. For instance, many technologies of our times derived from past discoveries, thus, knowing history can let us understand why and how we use such tools. In addition, studying our and others’ past allows to avoid such horrible mistakes and improve our society. I believe that, if we do not know world’s past, we will always turn around the same mistakes without learning how to avoid them. For example, if we did not study political and economic history we could not realise society’s achievements and we would not give the right importance to our freedom and democracy as well as we would not understand the reasons of economic crisis. This means that we could not avoid economic crisis in the future as well as we could lose our democracy without realising it. To conclude, there are many people who think we do not need to learn history, but I firmly believe that without knowing our past we cannot have a better future.