Some people believe having friends with same opinion is better, whereas other believe friends with different opinions can be better.

It is often said that a person is a combination of 5 people he/she spends most of their time with. Hence, except family, friends whom we choose, have a strong influence on our lives. Whatever decisions we take are affected by their thoughts and opinions as well, that is why it is important to select our friends wisely. Interestingly, some people prefer friends who always have same opinion as their, whereas some feel that it is good to have someone who sometimes disagree with them. In my opinion, having friends with different opinions might give a new perspective to look into any situation and hence gives a broader view of life. At times, people pick their friends based on similar ideologies and opinions they have, as it might reduce the chances of conflicts between them. In addition to that, it is a common belief that having people around with similar opinions might result into long term relationship. Also, it is quite comfortable for people to get along with others, if they share same thoughts and feelings about something. In contrary to that, one might even choose to be with someone with totally different opinion as theirs. A lot of people like to explore new versions of life, and thus like to connect with people having different point of view. In such cases, even when they usually not agree on same point, it promotes acceptance and growth in their relation. Furthermore, it is a common disbelief that avoiding conflicts due to opposing thoughts is necessary for any relationship to last, as the other factors such as trust, acceptance and transparency is equally important. To conclude, I believe that surrounding yourselves with friends having different opinions helps build a strong and loyal friendship. It promotes growth as both the sides might add multiple dimensions, when they get a chance to express themselves and then come to a conclusion.