Some people believe governments should support care and finance for retired people, while others think they should save money when they get older.

In the modern days, due to the separation of many families, the elderly require more help and attention. The government is considered to take care and provide financial assistance to the elderly, but some people believe that they should save money before their retirement. From my perspective, I personally agree that the government should take responsibility in providing financial stability to its senior citizens. To begin with, people should have their own savings to prevent national financial burden. The more developed their country is, the more money they earn. Wealthy individuals can have a great asset, which allows them to live decently until they pass away. Moreover, since in many countries the number of oldster is increasing year by year, the government is likely to struggle to sustain the financial provision. The early signs of this have been seen in many countries where the retirement age has been raised. Therefore, kinds of support may be rejected in the future. In contrast, it is necessary for the government to assist retired citizens in financial aid because of their contribution to society. During their labor time, the seniors have enriched the national economy by paying tax. In forms such as using public services, commerce, shopping, they have contributed to helping businesses make profits and a small part of their income has to be returned to the state to bolster the purposes of the country. Moreover, the aged having difficult circumstances are in need of assistance from the government. They don’t have enough strength and may have bad health conditions. This lead to the demand for medical services, which is paid partly by the government. To sum up, although people can have huge savings for their old age, the government should still have adequate subsidies for those who really need them.