Some people believe famous people's support towards international aid organizations draws attention to problems, while others think celebrities make the problems less important.

There is no doubt that celebrities play a crucial role in international aid organizations’ publicity. However, while some believe that celebrity spokespersons will steal the thunder of the issue itself, I would agree with those who argue that having celebrities to represent the organization raises awareness of the problems. Firstly, it is vital that the international aid remains at the centre of people’s attention as that enables the program to progress. This is because people who are drawn to the cause by their idol without truly being convinced by the reasons behind it are people without the motivation to provide support for the progress required. For instance, if people did not believe there is still war in the world, they would not donate just because some stars promoted it. The argument goes that if people pay more attention to celebrities than to global issues, then there will be more people discussing gossip than people acting on the issue. However, I believe allowing famous people to become the face and voice of the global challenges is the most efficient and effective way to acquire the attention and funding to tackle the problems. The reason for this is that celebrities provide people with a sense of curiosity, and research has shown that curiosity is a necessary catalyst for drive and enthusiasm. As a result, more people who have been inspired by the celebrity spokesperson have the impetus to donate and volunteer rather than leave the international aid organization struggling to gain the public’s attention and support. Conversely, celebrities’ participation in international aid provides the organization with more practical support due to the fan-based economy. In conclusion, although it is of critical importance that people pay attention to the international aid itself, I feel organisations can benefit more from celebrities’ participation on the basis that this will inspire more people to contribute.