: Nowadays we are producing more and more rubbish. Why do you think this is happening? What can governments do to help reduce the amount of rubbish produced?

Nowadays, humans are producing a ginormous amount of garbage - both domestic and industrial. This essay will explore some causes of this and propose ways to solve the problem. To begin with, different food producers decided that their products will be selling better if they will pack them in small-sized boxes and packets. These colourful and attractive packs go straight to the trashcan; the number of packs is growing along with the consuming growth. More consuming produce more waste. Government and businesses encourage consumption because it leads to high profits and the development of the state economy. They are not interested in using something for a long time. Society is being bombarded with commercials, pleading to buy, for instance, a new mobile phone; buying new things because throwing away old but good things. The problem of garbage is very complicated. As we can see, the government is not interested in reducing consumption. Thus, the responsibility has to be taken by individuals and non-governmental organizations. Certain laws, regulating the percentage of packaging material per tonne of the product should be established. Moreover, interesting programs, involving people to participate can be developed. For example, a bonus for not asking for a plastic bag in supermarkets or for buying extra-large packs of food. In addition, everyone should become concerned about the future of human beings and our planet. If we do not wish to be buried in rubbish, we should think twice before buying things we do not need.