One problem faced by almost every large city is traffic congestion. What do you think the causes are? What solutions can you suggest?

Nowadays, traffic congestion is a major issue faced by a lot of people in cities and towns due to an ever- increasing number of automobiles. This essay will focus on reasons behind the traffic congestion and provide possible solutions for the same. There are several factors that cause traffic jams such as populated areas, parking on narrow roads, less usage of public transport, etc. When the people drive personal vehicles, it causes a lot of pollution along with tight chaotic jams. Not only this, the ambulance passing by fails to find clear path during an emergency. It is claimed by traffic police of India that more than 80-85% of traffic is caused by private vehicles during the peak office hours. Thus, traffic jams develops many problems not only for the general public but also for traffic control police. Another cause of acute traffic congestion is not following parking and traffic rules. Most of the people do not follow traffic rules and related signs and directions. As a result, they park their vehicles anywhere on the roads which does not serve as a good example for the citizens to follow. A lot of solutions exist to alleviate the problem of peak- hour congestion. one such solution is that the government should construct wide roads for parking areas and encourage people to use public transportation after parking their cars. This would allow the public to follow park-and-ride scheme in their day- to- day life. . In conclusion, the issue of traffic congestion can be solved by following traffic rules and using public transport for smooth movement of vehicles.