Some people argue that the government should give every unemployed person a mobile phone and should make sure they have access to the Internet. They believe this is the best way of using public money to reduce the problem of unemployment.

Unemployment causes many problems for society. Individuals suffer not only economically, but also in terms of their self-respect and even health. Inevitably, when the breadwinner is unemployed, other family members become victims too. Young people without job prospects may turn to drugs or crime to escape boredom and poverty. For all these reasons, any measures which can reduce unemployment are to be welcomed. The first priority for the job seeker is information, and here the Internet offers a unique tool. Details of job vacancies and training schemes can be accessed within minutes on a computer screen, saving time and money that would otherwise be spent visiting employment agencies or buying newspapers. In addition, the Internet can be very useful in preparing for job interviews. Once a suitable job vacancy has been identified, it's vital to respond quickly, and in this respect, it can be argued that a mobile phone is more convenient than a conventional phone. Since calls on a mobile can be very expensive, however, costs can easily get out of hand unless they are monitored carefully. It has to be said that, like any tools, the Internet and the mobile phone are only as good as their user. Both need to be used effectively, and of course both are open to abuse. There is little point in making technology available, therefore, without providing basic training in using it. In conclusion, I believe there are strong arguments for giving unemployed people access to the Internet. However, the case for providing mobile phones is less convincing, and it may be more cost-effective in the long run to invest in relevant training programmes.