Some people argue that soace exploration has had more to do with national pride than international effort. To what extent do you agree with this? How do you think space exploration will change in the future?

The beginnings of the space exploration were initiated amid a period of political hostility between the United States and the former U. S. S. R and, more related to achieve military superiority rather than acquired scientific knowledge. From this point of view, during the Cold War, space exploration was presented to the public as a matter of national pride and there was no international cooperation. Nowadays things seem to be different. In the 60’s and 70’s, space exploration took the name of “Space Race”, being the United States and the USSR the competitors. National Pride was a major issue at this stage, both countries competing to conquer the moon. Finally, the moon was conquered by the United States in 1969 when Neil Armstrong became the first man in the moon. The USSR could have resigned the moon, but they broke every record on length of stay on space, being the longest stay on space over a year. In the late 80’s, two events occurred leading to the major changes that can be observed in the way space exploration is carrying on these days. One of these was the explosion of the Space Shuttle Challenger few seconds after its departure. This practically stops the United Sates Space Program, and the other one was the falling of the Berlin Wall and the end of the USSR. These issues, plus the increasing costs of space exploration, in a world of scarce resources, contributed to change the space exploration from a matter of national pride to an international effort. Thus, an International Space Station was built, showing to the world the new paradigm on space exploration. Furthermore, new actors have appeared, private investors are interested on space travel and are developing new technologies in order to make space travel affordable. To conclude, I believe that despite the fact that space exploration begun as a matter of national pride, is enough evidence to support that nowadays this has changed towards an international effort plus the participation of the private sector.