Some people argue that parents should choose what major should be focused to study at university for their children while others say students should have they own freedom to make a choice.

Nowadays, universities contain variety of subjects for students to choose their interest fields. Many people claim that parents should decide what major should their children focused to study, while some others believe that students should have freedom to choose what they want to learn. From my perspective, I personally believe that students should have permission to decide their selected major. To begin with, some parents, mostly, want their kids to become successful so they already plan about their kid educational path, such as what major should their child study, without the kid permission. It might not be the good idea as sometime the subject that parents select might not the kid real interested. For instance, my mother wanted me to become doctor, and she recommended me to study in science field since I was young whether I did not have passion about this area. But after I have tried to study in this subject I still not like it, so I told my mother that I want to change the major. Fortunately, she does not want me to suffer from education anymore so she let me change my main subject. On the other hand, letting students free to choose what they want to learn might be the most appropriate idea for all. Selecting their interested subject not only increase their demand for studying, but it also reduced the risk of mental problems, such as stress and depress. As if learners learn in theirs satisfy major, they will become more enthusiastic about what they are going to know and make them enjoy in their education. However, it does not mean that parents cannot intrude their children major, parents can still help theirs about keeping advice about what is the useful major for future. To sum up, giving permission to guardians to choose the college major might be the confused topic, it depends on the personal satisfactory. However, I still recommend that parent and children should consider about this together.