Some people argue that music plays an important role in society while others claim that music is simply entertainment for the individual.

The importance of music cannot be underestimated both for society and for an individual. In my view, music plays an equally critical role for people individually and for the wider community or culture as it can provide a means of bringing people together. It is necessary to first consider how music helps a society. It can act as a cultural or national symbol. Most countries around the world have a national anthem or song and many cultures have their own unique music styles, songs and instruments. This cultural and national significance can create a sense of belonging and pride. I always feel proud when I hear my country’s national anthem at a large sporting event. A very good example of music at a social level is the Eurovision Song Contest which brings people together from across Europe. For an individual, music can influence mood and can be a form of entertainment. Whenever I go running, I enjoy listening to some up-tempo music to keep me motivated and it also distracts me from the boredom of exercise. Music is also enjoyed by millions of people around the world simply as a way to switch off. I enjoy turning on the radio while driving and it allows me to relax and forget about the stresses of life. I firmly believe that music has a great number of advantages for both society and for an individual. I would argue that it can be a very powerful tool used by billions of people across the globe.