Some people argue that holding sporting events is beneficial to a country's development. However, other people hold the opposite opinion.

sports related tournaments have been taking place all over the world in the 21st century. Many people perceive it to be having many repercussions associated with it on the environment, others, however, believe it can be profitable in boosting the economy. To begin with the positive aspects of organizing such international tournaments on the host country, it can bring name and fame for the nation and that nation has a chance to showcase the power to the whole world about the capabilities in organizing such mammoth events. Furthermore, the biggest advantage of such sporting event is, it flourishes the tourism industry. Thousands of people across the world pay visit to support the people of their own country, which in turn generates huge revenue and also many locals get benefits out of it. Moreover, Concerning the relations between two nations, such events have power to mitigate any issues and can strengthen the bilateral relations. Also, many local industries will notice a significant demand in certain products which will help in curtailing the issue of unemployment in the respective country. For an instance, Japan had organized Tokyo Olympics in 1996, and after that event, according to a report of local newspaper, a noticeable growth in the local industries was witnessed by the nation and the world had noticed the prowess of japan and appreciated the efforts. On the other hand, many people oppose such events as they believe it has more ramifications associated vis-à-vis the benefits. The first and foremost downside of such events is, it will damage the environment to a larger extent. To host such big happenings, it requires huge land and the water demand is significantly high. Many times, countries have to cut down the tress to accommodate the needs of such functions. Also, People who come to the host country, will utilize the available resources: water, fuel and food, which will damage the country’s environment adversely. Thus, fertile land will be devastated and clean drinking water will be reduced. Moreover, such big events come with many associated problems: one of them is security concerns. This kind of events are soft target of terrorists’ activities and thus, a great deal of wherewithal needs to be spent upon securing the same. For example, Pakistan organized Asia cup in 2002, however, there was a terrorist attack on the players of the sri-Lankan cricket team, as a result country has to suffer financially as well as the reputation across the world was also spoiled. In my opinion, the events are having many positive impacts on the country’s economy and can also bring positivity in the whole world and play a vital role in making the people cheer and be happy for a while thus, such events should be organized frequently. To conclude, international tournaments on one hand have many demerits in terms of environmental damage, at the same time it has power to bring glory to a nation and presenting a unique identity before the world. If such events are being organised by a nation then it should be ensured that other necessities of people are already fulfilled.