In Britain, when someone gets old they often go to live in a home with other old people where there are nurses to look after them. Sometimes the government has to pay for this care. Who do you think should pay for this care, the government or the family?

Humans in their old age need care and attention, as their body becomes frail and weak. So here I would like to discuss, the points about who should be paying for their care, the government or the family. Our parents take care of us when we are young, in the same way we are responsible to look after them during their old age. Families should support the old people and cater to their needs. Sometimes, the family members might be overburdened with work, hence they cannot provide the proper care and attention required. Therefore, they are forced to send the old people to care homes. In these care homes, there are nurses employed to fulfill all the needs of aged people. Family members should be paying for this assistance because they are unable to do it themselves. Abandoning their responsibilities and hoping for the government to pay for it does not benefit anyone. Nursing like any other service that is being provided to us should be paid by us. Government should pitch in wherever it is necessary. For example, some old people do not have families and are staying in these old age homes. These people are wholly dependent on the government to pay for their well-being. The funds paid by the government should be utilised to benefit those who are in dire need of it. Overall, the old age people in these care homes should be entitled to proper food and care. To conclude this, I would like to say that families should make sure their old members are treated the same way they would like to be treated when they become old. And the government should make sure that the old citizens of its country are not suffering because of their family members.