Some people are of the opinion that there should be a car-free day once every month, on which no private vehicles are allowed on the road. Discuss the advantages and possible disadvantages.

According to a few people, the public roads should be unoccupied at least once in a month. To an extent, having no movement of vehicles for a day will have its own merits and demerits which will be discussed in the following paragraph. To commence with, once in a while, controlling the road network will have some benefit on the environment by minimizing air pollution. As we know various mixtures of noxious gases are emitted by the vehicles like carbon monoxide affect the health of the human beings distinctly by causing various respiratory disorders. For example, people in metro cities are facing respiratory disorders due to air pollution. In addition to this, fuel consumption also can be reduced by limiting the movement of vehicles on particular day. Thus, natural resources energy can be saved for our future generation. On the other hand, the public transport system would not be able to tackle the problem of a huge number of passengers on a particular day. If arrangements are made for that single day, authorities would suffer huge economic loss as they would hardly find enough number of passengers for the rest of the month. Similarly, the passenger convenience and comfort cannot be effectively met by the existing public transport system. Different commuters have diverse purposes to travel and it will be to multiple destinations and at different timings. For example, all the government buses and metros follow a specific time and it is available more in the cities not in the rural areas. In conclusion, trying to control the traffic by limiting the usage of vehicles will definitely contribute in reducing the pollution and fuel consumption. But at the same time, it will result in ineffective commuting.