Populations in developing nations are rapidly growing, people now believe that we should turn to GM crops to increase the production of food grains. Discuss the Advantages and Disadvantages of this approach.

Many people are of the belief that genetically modified crops has enormous potential for increasing food production to meet the demand of the growing population across the globe. This essay discusses both innocuous and noxious effects of GM crops. To begin with, the genetic engineering helped in optimizing the agricultural performance. The GM crops will increase the production of food grains and thus the country desn't need to depend on other countries for food items. It will boost country's economy. In addition to this, GM crops helps to raise farmer's income as it can produce more in small area of land with minimum expenses. It can solve farmer's financial problem as it can increase the production. For example, It is proven that Genetically modified crops can increase the rice production in a shorter period. On the contrary, some researchers found that eating GM foods can be harmful to human health. They argue that it is dangerous as it introduce new genes into the human body. For instance, it can cause diseases like cancer and other allergic problems. Additionally, these GM crops causes the disruption of ecosystem and biodiversity as it hampers the quality of the soil. It will be concentrating on one type of crop and eventually disrupt the natural ecosystem. In a nutshell, on one side of the heated discourse are people who firmly believe that GM crops pose a threat to human health and biodiversity. On the other side are mainly scientists who are convinced that GM crops can increase the food production and boost a country's economy.